Tuesday, March 17, 2009

The 4 Directions

I always look to nature for inspiration. Lately Ive been in a slump as the seasons change from the death of winter to the birth of spring... In the Navajo Nation the seasons are part of the special meaning of fours. the 4 directions, the 4 mountains in the 4 directions that surround Navajoland. , I find that old familiar feeling of creation creeping into me. Without this rebirth each year we would not see the nesting of birds, the budding of trees, and the water moving more swiftly swelled by the snow melts up river.

The 4 sacred Mountains are Mt. Blanca to the East, Mt. Taylor to the south, to the west its San Francisco Peak, while Mt. Hesperus points the way north. Each of these 4 directions and these 4 mountains are represented by the 4 colors. . . White Shell to the east, Turquoise to the south, Yellow Abalone to the west, and Jet Black to the north. These colors make a beautiful color pallette.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are appreciated, and reciprocated!